Keyisha Cole “I Should Have Listened” to my Record Company

Keyisha Cole’s new record Calling All Hearts drops today and no one believes the R&B star’s album will be a success including her. Cole attributes the album’s lack of anticipation to the success of the album’s lone single, Nicki Minaj collaboration I Ain’t Thru which has yet to make major impact on Billboard charts. According to Cole the record company pushed for her to not select Thru as the album’s lead single, but Cole persisted. The Associated Press reports:

This time around, Cole’s lead single has not created a buzz for the singer like it has done in the past. “I Ain’t Thru,” which features Nicki Minaj, has only peaked at No. 58 on Billboard’s R&B/Hip-Hop songs chart.

Cole says she made the decision to release the song — though her record label disagreed.

“The label didn’t really want to drop the record because they knew … that people wanted a more intense, soulful record from me about love and I really should have followed (their) direction,” she said. “But I wanted that to be a statement record. It’s like saying, ‘I’m doing me, you know. I don’t have no regrets for nothing that I’m doing.’”

Geffen record executives in charge of Cole are not pleased with the record either, but Cole’s executive Ron Fair stated it was Cole’s descision and that

It’s something that Keyshia really wanted to say.

The albums next single is more R&B friendly Long Way Down.

What Do You Think? Are You Picking Up Keyshia’s album

 

About thatsloud


Leave a Reply

